Charles Ives Concert Series Third Annual Call for Scores

Application Deadline: May 1st, 2019

The Charles Ives Concert Series  announces its third annual Call for Scores. The Charles Ives Concert Series regularly features dynamic and unique emerging artists performing the music of Charles Ives, the music of 20th and 21st century American composers, and music that transcends the traditional boundaries of classical music to incorporate other styles of music.

Concerts are performed by Charles Ives Concert Series guest artists and artist-faculty. Read about them here.

We are seeking recent works composed for all or any subset of the following: Flute, Clarinet, 2 Violins, 2 Violas, 2 Cellos, and Piano by composers of any age and at the early or emerging stages of their careers.

We will choose one work to be performed on the Charles Ives Concert Series concert in Danbury, CT during the week of August 5th on one of our concerts.

Additionally, other works not chosen for this particular performance will be kept in mind for future performances. While we cannot provide funds for housing or transportation, the selected composer is invited to see his or her performed and will receive an archival recording.

**Submissions will be selected by the Artistic Director Paul Frucht, Associate Artistic Director Jon Cziner, and Composer-in-Residence Robert Paterson.


  • Any composer residing within the United States, or an American citizen residing abroad, is eligible regardless of age, sex, color, creed, sexual orientation, marital status, disability or veteran status.
  • Pieces should be no longer than 10 minutes in duration and must be composed for any combination of Flute, Clarinet, 2 Violins, 2 Violas, 2 Cellos, and Piano.
  • Pieces with a performance history are welcome, but please list all previous performances or readings and the performing ensemble as directed in the Application Process section below
  • Composers may submit as many pieces as they wish for consideration (payment details below)

Application Process:

  1. All submissions must be sent to No hard copy submissions will be accepted.
  2. The subject of your e-mail should be “(Your name) Charles Ives Concert Series Call for Scores Submission 2019”
  3. Attach a PDF of your score and a bio or resume (two pages maximum)
  4. In the body of your e-mail, please include the following:
  • Your full name
  • Telephone number
  • A link to an audio or video recording of your work. Live recordings preferred, MIDI recordings accepted. (A recording is not required)
  • Performance history of the work if applicable

 To complete your submission, please make a payment of $15 for every submitted piece through PayPal via the button below:


*While we charge a fee in order to cover the overhead costs associated with this annual call, we do not wish to exclude anyone due to financial circumstances that may make our application infeasible. If the application fee is not feasible for you due to financial circumstances, but you still wish to submit a work(s) to our competition, please contact us at

Deadline for Submission: May 1st, 2019

All submissions must be received by Wednesday May 1st, 2019 at 11:59 PM EST.

The selected composer will be notified by Monday, May 20th, 2019.

Submissions will be selected by the Artistic Director Paul Frucht, Composer-in-Residence Robert Paterson, and Associate Artistic Director Jon Cziner.


Please contact Jon Cziner with any questions at

Previous Winners:

2018 Charles Ives Concert Series Call for Scores Winner

Max Vinetz – still, unsettled.

This adjudication process resulted in the selection of Max Vinetz’s still, unsettled for piano trio, which was performed on the August 9th, 2018 Ives Series concert celebrating the 90th birthday of legendary composer and educator, Samuel Adler.

2018 Runners Up: Scott Feiner, Jee Seo, Angela Slater

2018 Honorable Mentions: Burton Beerman, Aaron Houston, Ben Yee-Paulson, Taylor Joshua Rankin, Nick Revel, Elliot Roman, Carl Schimmel, Harriet Steinke,  Ari Sussman, and Sam Wu.

About Max Vinetz

Max Vinetz is a composer whose recent work has drawn inspiration from the intersection between traditional, popular, and improvisatory forms and aesthetics. He has received recognition and awards for performance and composition from ASCAP (2018 Morton Gould Winner, 2016 Finalist), BMI (2017, Finalist), Symphony No. 1, Donald Sinta Quartet, Tesla Quartet, KLK New Music, Yale University, the Reno Jazz Festival and the CMEA Jazz Festival. At Yale, Max won the Beekman Cannon Friends Prize, Beekman Abraham Beekman Cox Prize awarded to the “most promising and gifted composer” in the junior class, and was also awarded the Lewis P. Curtis Fellowship (2017 and 2018), the Tristan Perlroth Prize, and the R.J.R. Cohen Fellowship for Musical Performance. His music has additionally been featured at numerous festivals – New Music On the Point, Red Note New Music Festival, Brevard Music Center, California Summer Music, Nief-Norf, Valencia International Performance Academy, and highSCORE.

Max’s works and have been performed and recorded by Ensemble Dal Niente, Copland House Chamber Players, the Lemberg Sinfonietta, DeCoda, Mivos Quartet, B3: Brouwer Trio, unassisted fold, Phoenix Quartet, Albatross Duo, Yale Symphony Orchestra, New York Youth Symphony, Brevard Sinfonia, Yale Undergraduate Chamber Orchestra, Icarus Duo, members of Yale Voxtet, Yale Schola Cantorum, and the h2 Saxophone Quartet among others. He is the founder of New Music Cooperative at Yale College, an organization that is dedicated to premiering undergraduate works and providing a collaborative environment between performers and composers, while also serving as artistic director for the Yale Undergraduate Chamber Orchestra. Max recently graduated with a BA in Music with distinction from Yale, where he studied composition and music technology with Kathryn Alexander and Konrad Kaczmarek. In August, Max will begin his MM degree at the Shepherd School of Music as a Brown Fellow.

2017 Charles Ives Concert Series Call for Scores Winner

Ursula Kwong-Brown – Unwinding II
The winner of the 2017 call for scores was Ursula Kwong-Brown for her work, Unwinding II, for string quartet. Her work was premiered by Charles Ives Concert Series Artist-Faculty on August 12th, 2017 in Danbury, CT on the final concert of our series that season called “Charles Ives and His Living Legacy.”
The two runners up were Charles Peck for his work, Rift & Shade, and Sotiris Melissis for his work, Two Pieces for String Quartet.